Cup of Hugs: A Coffee Cozy Story

I’m not a coffee connoisseur. In fact, I don’t drink coffee at all. However, I do make frequent visits to my local Starbucks! 😛

IMG_6458I sometimes wish I was wired for the coffee culture because I absolutely love to sit in a coffee shop and read a good book or work on projects amidst the hustle and bustle of the shop. So much so that I visit the website Coffitivity when I write to get me in the right mindset. (And yes, I sure did open a window for Coffitivity when I opened this document to start writing. 😛 )

Whether I’m getting a hot or iced drink, I like using a coffee sleeve. At first I thought the coffee sleeve was only meant to keep your hand from burning or getting too hot from the heat of your drink. And then I came across someone who used a coffee sleeve on their iced drinks and noticed that it kept the condensation from reaching the bottom of the drink that would always create that pesky wet ring on the table. GENIUS!

Ever since then I would always ask for a coffee sleeve with my drink, whether it be hot or cold.

I’ve probably wasted so many trees/cardboard with the amount of coffee sleeves I would grab with my drink at Starbucks or whatever local coffee shop I walked into. I was scrolling through my Instagram feed one day and came across coffee cozies. Yes! Why didn’t I think about that sooner!? Why not make my own coffee sleeve and save a few trees while I’m at it?

Thus, the Cup of Hugs coffee cozy was born.

IMG_6455It’s such a simple concept and pattern that I came up with that I really wanted to share it on my blog. If you know how to crochet a puff stitch, then you already have the majority of the skills necessary to create this pattern. I was itching to use Brittney’s (from b.hooked crochet) tutorial on zig zag puff stitches on a project and a coffee cozy seemed to be just the right fit. 🙂

I really like how this coffee cozy turned out and I hope you download and try this pattern for yourself! If you have any questions about the pattern, feel free to reach out and ask. Also, if you happen to share any photos of your finished cozy on social, make sure to tag me and use the hashtag #MBMcupofhugs (As an added bonus: if you’d like to pick up your own Cup of Hugs, they’re available on my Etsy shop for purchase!)

Happy crocheting!

Leave a Reply

