Where I Crochet

2017-03-04 15.48.35-4

“Anywhere and everywhere!” would be the simple answer to that prompt. But really….

Where do I crochet?

In all honesty, the answer to that question really is anywhere and everywhere. The thing that I love about crochet is how portable of a hobby it is. I’ve crocheted in the most random places at the most random times: in a sports bar during lunch, standing in line at a store, at the park during a baseball game, etc. You name it and I’ve probably crocheted in that scenario, if not something similar.

Living in Southern California, you’re always on the go and driving from one place to another. So I always make sure to have a WIP or two packed with me at all times, especially since I tend to always have more than one project in the works at a time. I try to plan ahead, so depending on where I’m going or where I’ll be will determine what project I’m taking with me.

But the most consistent places I crochet would have to be where I spend the majority of my time: in bed, on the couch and at work.

In Bed

When I have days off from work or come home from work, I find that I spend the majority of my time in bed crocheting (when I’m not sleeping, of course). I definitely love my days off from work because those are the days where I’m able to dedicate uninterrupted time to my crochet. What’s even better than days off from work is coming home from work and being able to de-stress and unwind with a project. I love propping up my pillows, setting up my laptop and notebooks, laying out my project and working on my crochet.

On the Couch

Another favorite place to crochet would have to be on the couch. And not just any couch, but the couch at my boyfriend’s house. I love how supportive he is of my quirky little hobby. It’s nice because we’ll spend time together on the couch where I’ll crochet and he’ll be playing video games or I’ll crochet while we watch TV together. It’s kind of a win-win situation because we get to spend time in each other’s presence and do things that we like to do. I also love it because I have someone to bounce ideas off of or get opinions from. I’ll show him a work in progress or a finished product and he’ll give me instant feedback. Or I’ll show him pictures of patterns I’m interested in trying and he’ll give me suggestions of how to make it my own or who to market those projects to.

At Work

Yes, I crochet at work. And guess what? It’s totally OK! I love my current work situation because it allows me time to work on my crochet. I work in a call center and box office and when I’m not helping patrons on the phone or at the window, I’m able to pull out my WIPs and work on that until the next call or walk up. It’s pretty great. And much like crocheting on the couch with my boyfriend, I also get instant feedback from my coworkers. And since most of my coworkers know that I crochet, a lot of the times they’ll show me pictures or tell me about knitted or crocheted things they’ve recently seen that remind them of me. I love when that happens for two reasons: 1) Because I get to talk crochet with someone, and 2) Because it usually gives me an idea for a new project!

Do you set aside specified time to crochet?

I guess the simple answer to that question would be ‘no.’ My work schedule changes pretty frequently, so I tend to crochet wherever seems to fit. I’m a bit of a multi-tasker when it comes to being home and handling chores or watching TV. In between chores or while I’m watching TV I like to keep myself busy with whatever project I’m working on currently. Ultimately, I’d love to be able to get myself on a consistent schedule where I’m able to always dedicate a specific time and day to my crocheting. I hope to get there eventually!

Do you have a crochet schedule? Where do you like to crochet?

Share your favorite places to crochet or how you find the time to crochet on my Facebook page!
Or tweet me (@_madebymeeeshh) pictures of your favorite place(s) to crochet with the hashtag #MBMwhereicrochet

Leave a Reply

